Holiday Collection Schedule

The City of Portland will not collect trash and recycling on Christmas and New Year's Day. If your normal collection day is Friday, your trash & recycling will be collected on Saturday, December 26, 2020 and Saturday, January 2, 2021.

UPDATE POSTED DECEMBER 7, 2020  

PLEASE HAVE TRASH & RECYCLING CURBSIDE BY 6:30 AM FOR EFFICIENCY
EMA

IL ANY HOLIDAY COLLECTION QUESTIONS TO:  SOLIDWASTE@PORTLANDMAINE.GOV

HOLIDAY COLLECTION OF TRASH & RECYCLING


New Year's Day:  Friday, January 1, 2021
Saturday, January 2, 2021
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day:  Monday, January 18, 2021
No Change in Collection
Presidents' Day:  Monday, February 15, 2021
No Change in Collection
Patriots' Day:  Monday, April 19, 2021
No Change in Collection 
Memorial Day:  Monday, May 31, 2021
No Change in Collection
Independence Day:  Monday, July 5, 2021
No Change in Collection
Labor Day:  Monday, September 6, 2021
No Change in Collection
Indigenous Peoples' Day: Monday, October 11, 2021
No Change in Collection. 
Veterans Day:  Thursday, November 11, 2021
No Change in Collection. 
Thanksgiving Day:  Thursday,  November 25, 2021
Saturday, November 27, 2021 Make-up collection day.  
Day After Thanksgiving:  Friday, November 26, 2021
No Change in Collection.  

Christmas Day: Friday, December 24, 2021

New Year's Day: Friday, December 31, 2021


Riverside Recycling has silver-bullet drop off containers, please follow the recycling do's and don'ts. We will not be collecting extra cardboard from beside the recycle carts, it's helpful to break down any boxes to save space.
Riverside's HOLIDAY SCHEDULE  *There will NOT be an HHW event in July due to the 4th of July holiday weekend, Riverside will be closed. Household Hazardous Waste Collection will resume the 1st Saturday in August 2021.   


All weekly trash and recycling collection is subject to change due to city holidays, construction, special events, inclement weather, and natural disasters. Future updates will be posted on the News page as well on our social media channels. 

You may sign up to receive city news alerts via email and text message on our Stay Connected page.