Here's what you need to know to be a responsible dog owner in the City
of Portland. Click here to return to the home
in the City must be licensed by the Clerk's Office
To license your dog for the first time, the cost is $6.00 if spayed/neutered
and $11.00 if not. Your dog must be vaccinated against rabies as well.
You can visit the City Clerk's office in Room 203 at City Hall to obtain
a dog license or by mail - just send your proof of vaccination and neutering
(if applicable) to: City Clerk's Office, 389 Congress Street, Portland,
Maine, 04101. Please call us at 874-8610 with any questions.
must be on a leash in most areas of the City
Your dog must be on a 8 foot maximum leash on all streets and publicly
owned property including Back Cove and the Skate Park. There are several
areas where your dog can be on a longer leash or under voice control.
must be leashed (max. 25 feet) in the following areas:
Evergreen Cemetery (Dogs allowed on roads and paths only, not
Eastern Promenade (some areas in this location do allow for voice
command, see below).
Dogs can be unleashed at the following locations
(must be under voice command):
Capisic Pond Park
Evergreen Cemetery (to the north and west of Northern Ave; in
undeveloped wooded area)
East End Beach (day after Labor Day to the day before Memorial
Hall School Woods
Ocean Avenue Landfill
Pine Grove Park
Woods behind Portland Arts & Technology School (196 Allen
At North Street/Washington Avenue (behind Jack School)
Quarry Run Dog Park
Valley Street Park
Any city owned island park areas and open space (unless posted
Eastern Promenade park within (1) the area bounded by the following:
Cutter Street to the lower sidewalk to the exit side of the Fort Allen
roadway and back to Cutter Street; and (2) the mid-slope nature path.
Said areas of Eastern Promenade park to be open to dogs under voice
control from Memorial Day through Labor Day from 5:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m.
and 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. of each day, and from Labor Day through
Memorial Day from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. of each day.
are no dogs allowed on East End Beach from Memorial Day through Labor
Day each year. There are also no dogs allowed (with the exception of
those assisting the visually impaired) on any playfields, school yards
information including directions to any of the above facilities, please
call our Public Services
office at 874-8801.
dog waste must be disposed of properly
It's easy to do and helps keep our City sidewalks clean and free
of disease. Dog feces placed in City garbage cans should be contained
within some type of plastic bag.
$250.00 fine for not picking up after your pet. For fine information, see Chapter 5 of the Portland City Code or call
the Corporation Councils office at 874-8480
for other important City information.